I can’t do it, but God can…

Standard

I got this from a blog of a Pastor who uses what Jesus didn't say to emphasize what he did say...hmm!

Gift:  Piety (Reverence)

Reading: Jesus looked at them and said, “For human beings it is impossible, but not for God. All things are possible for God.”  (Mark 10:27)

Observation: When I think about a friend of mine, who has not professed his belief in Jesus Christ, I think about this Gospel reading.  He is a man of significant wealth, great family and great career with seemingly limitless potential.  I mentioned to one of our Christian brothers that I think the wealth is standing in the way of his profession of faith, and I didn’t get any major objections, except his look of determination that said I am not going to stop trying.  You see, my friend grew up in a Hindu family and is still part of that mostly Hindu family.  However, he sees the light illuminating the lives of his Christian friends and wants to walk into that light, but it appears to all of us that there are too many obstacles in the way.  In this Gospel reading this morning, I am seeing that his Christian friends, including me, may very well be more of an obstacle than a pathway, because we can’t do it, but God can…

Personification:  Long-suffering (Positive Attitude) – Because we know we are love by God, we are able to put up with the injuries, slights, and outrages of life. Today, I hope that the fruit of long-suffering is granted to me and my Christian brothers and sisters, so that we can see that it is only through real surrender of our will, that the will of the Father can be done.  It is my hope that we will recieve the grace necessary to suffer whatever comes our way with a sincere positive attitude.

Prayer: Lord, grant us the grace to give up whatever we hold on to today and for the rest of our lives, so that we may more closely follow you.  I ask this, as always, in the name of the Father and of the Son and of the holy Spirit.  Amen.






Leave a Reply

