We are called to have mercy…

Standard

 Gift:  Wisdom

Reading:  On those who waver, have mercy; 13 save others by snatching them out of the fire; on others have mercy with fear, 14 abhorring even the outer garment stained by the flesh.  (Jude 22-23)

Observation:  The reading from the book of Jude that I chose to journal on this morning is full of imagery that the notes in the online version of the New American Bible, that I get the readings from,  says that Jude got the imagery from the book of Zachariah in the old testament.  I love this vision of snatching someone from the fire.  It just sounds like such an awesome thing to do, and I definitely see myself having to ask for mercy for not being a good disciple to everyone that I meet.  However, I would love to be made aware of the times that I am called to snatch someone from the fire and would be honored to get the opportunity to serve God in this worthy endeavor to save others.

Personification:  Love (Charity) – Quick to sense the needs of the people with whom we work and live and respond as Jesus would.  I am hearing that the only way to really snatch someone from the fire is to love them where they are at and let God bring them out of the fire by the power of the holy Spirit and with the redeeming power of Jesus Christ.

Prayer:  Lord, help me to stay true to your Word and let me be everything that you are calling me to be in this world.  Please help me to realize the life that is everlasting today and for the eternity to come.  I ask this as always, in the name of the Father and of  the Son and of the holy Spirit.  Amen.

Leave a Reply

