The 2nd encyclical of the 1st Pope…

Standard

Saint Peter, holding the keys to the kingdom...

Gift:  Fear of the Lord (Wonder and Awe) – With the gift of wonder and awe (fear of the lord), we are aware of the glory and majesty of God. A person with wonder and awe knows that God is the perfection of all we desire: perfect knowledge, perfect goodness, perfect power, and perfect love.

Reading:  10 waiting for and hastening the coming of the day of God, because of which the heavens will be dissolved in flames and the elements melted by fire.  (2 Peter 3:12)

&

Fill us at daybreak with your love, that all our days we may sing for joy.  (Psalm 90:14)

Observation:  Today, I realize that Peter was not officially called the Pope, but he was definitely the leader of the church that was left to spread the Good News here on earth.  In much the same way that he felt it was necessary to write down instructions for the people of his time, our Pope writes down the instructions for right living for our day.  These are called encyclicals.  We hear in Peter’s letter in the first reading today that we should be eagerly anticipating the creation of the new Jerusalem.  He did not mean that we should abandon this world in favor of the next.  In my opinion, it is not just a physical reforming of the world as we know it, but also a reformation of our hearts to be aligned with God’s will; right here, right now.  If you know what I mean…

Personification:  Self-Control – Learning to discipline my time, energy and desires to reflect my spiritual values and priorities.  It is only through the exercise of self-control, that comes to me by the grace of God, that I can be sure that I am following the will of the one that supplies the grace.  So, I will once again set out today to discipline the use of my time in a way that is conducive to carrying out everything that the Lord would have me accomplish today.

Prayer:  Lord, help me to be more strong willed when it comes to following your will for me.  I ask this, as always, in the name of the Father and of the Son and of the holy Spirit.  Amen.

 

Leave a Reply

