Your share of the hardship…

Standard

St Teresa's in Titusville, where Tonya and I got married...

Gift:  Counsel (Right Judgment) With the gift of right judgment, we know the difference between right and wrong, and we choose to do what is right. A person with right judgment avoids sin and lives out the values taught by Jesus.

Reading:  For God did not give us a spirit of cowardice but rather of power and love and self-control. So do not be ashamed of your testimony to our Lord, 6 nor of me, a prisoner for his sake; but bear your share of hardship for the gospel with the strength that comes from God.  (2 Timothy 1:7-8)

Observation:  As soon as I read the verse that begins the reading that I selected above from the letter of Saint Paul to Timothy, I laughed.  I laughed because I have a T-shirt, that my sister Sarah gave me, that says, “Super Charged” on it and it references the 7th verse of the 2nd letter to Timothy in the first chapter.  I laughed because I am struggling, like usual, to stay faithful to what I know God wants me to be doing and not what the flesh wants to do.  I laughed because it was at the moment I read that verse that I knew that God was more powerful than my flesh and he created me to display his power through the grace that he gave me as a free gift.

Personification:  Peace – Quiet, inner confidence that keeps us from feeling uptight and anxious.  It is only when I have real peace in my heart that flows from the holy Spirit that I can wait for the Lord to reveal the truth to me, rather than act out of impulse to follow my own desires.

Prayer:  Lord, help me to carry this peace with me at all times, so that I can be a real example of it by showing your power. love and self-control in my life today and for the rest of my life.  I ask this, as always, in the name of the Father and of the Son and of the holy Spirit.  Amen.

 

One thought on “Your share of the hardship…

Leave a Reply

