The Word of God is alive…

Standard

Gift:  Knowledge – With the gift of knowledge, we understand the meaning of God’s Revelation, especially as expressed in the life and words of Jesus Christ. A person with knowledge is always learning more about the scriptures and Tradition.

Reading:  3 4 All scripture is inspired by God and is useful for teaching, for refutation, for correction, and for training in righteousness, so that one who belongs to God may be competent, equipped for every good work.  (2 Timothy 3:16-17)

Observation:  It is funny how I have been feeling like everyone I was reading or hearing talking about scripture lately was telling me that it was written by man and then I read this first reading from the Mass readings for today.  The truth is that we can only be equipped for every good work if we stay in the Word of God.  You would think that I knew that already, especially considering the name of my journal blog used to be, “The Word of God is alive.”

Personification:  Long-suffering (Positive Attitude) – Because we know we are love by God, we are able to put up with the injuries, slights, and outrages of life.   In talking to my sister this morning about this reading, I am understanding better what it means to be given the fruit of long-suffering.  No matter the injuries, slights, and outrages of life, I must persevere in the truth to give witness to the fact that the Lord is good enough to see me through it all.

Prayer:  Lord, it is only by your grace that I am saved from myself again this morning.  Thank you for giving me a sister who is hearing the Word of God so clearly and continue to lead her to your wisdom.  I ask this, as always, in the name of the Father and of the Son and of the holy Spirit.  Amen.

 

Leave a Reply

