After three days they found him…WHAT!!!

Standard

Googled, "finding Jesus in the temple" Images

Gift:  Wisdom– With the gift of wisdom, we see God at work in our lives and in the world. For the wise person, the wonders of nature, historical events, and the ups and downs of our lives take on deeper meaning. The matters of judgment about the truth, and being able to see the whole image of God.

Reading:  After three days they found him in the temple, sitting in the midst of the teachers, listening to them and asking them questions, and all who heard him were astounded at his understanding and his answers.  (Luke 2:46-47)

Observation:  How is it possible for a parent to survive not knowing where their son is for three days?  When I read these verses in the Gospel reading this morning I was left with how helpless Joseph and Mary must have felt, not knowing exactly where he was.  Now, I can understand the fact that they probably knew that Jesus was not going to get into trouble at this point, but as a Mother, Mary, must have been throwing all kinds of ideas out to Joseph about all the bad things that could have happened to him.  How do I set me boys up, so that if I left them at the temple, they would be about doing Our Father’s work?

Personification:  Humility (Gentleness) – An inner strength that permits us to be aware of our own abilities without having to make a show of them.  I must remember to display the fruit of humility today and for the rest of my life, especially around my boys.  If they see that nothing I do is possible without the prompting, acceptance and following the will of God for my life, maybe they will be willing to do the same.  This world will tell them that can do anything, and it must be my goal to show them that they can do anything through Christ who strengthens them.

Prayer:  Lord Jesus Christ, Son of God, have mercy on me a sinner.  Amen.

Leave a Reply

