Sin is not a part of Christ, it is wholly mine…

Standard

Googled, "Sin"

Gift:  Counsel (Right Judgment) – With the gift of right judgment, we know the difference between right and wrong, and we choose to do what is right. A person with right judgment avoids sin and lives out the values taught by Jesus.

Reading:  For through the law I died to the law, 19 that I might live for God. I have been crucified with Christ; yet I live, no longer I, but Christ lives in me; insofar as I now live in the flesh, I live by faith in the Son of God who has loved me and given himself up for me. I do not nullify the grace of God; for if justification comes through the law, then Christ died for nothing.  (Galatians 2:19-21)

Observation:  The Gospel reading this morning tells about a sinful woman who comes to annoint Jesus feet and the Pharisee who judges her not by her actions, but by her past.  In the verses that I chose from the second reading today, I see that it is by the grace of God that we turn from our sinfulness and not by some observance of the law.  The law is what brought about Christ, and Jesus said that he didn’t come to abolish the law, but as followers of him, we can more easily follow the will of the Father in our lives.

Personification:  Modesty – No longer needing to impress other people with our power or degrees or connections or wealth.  I am looking forward to today with the anticipation of grace that comes from God to allow me to display the fruit of modesty in all things that I try to do today.

Prayer:  Lord Jesus Christ, Son of God, have mercy on me a sinner.  Amen.

Leave a Reply

