Beware of impenitent Christians…

Standard

Googled, "Impenitent Christian"

Gift:  Piety (Reverence) – With the gift of reverence, sometimes called piety, we have a deep sense of respect for God and the Church. A person with reverence recognizes our total reliance on God and comes before God with humility, trust, and love.

Reading:Do not give what is holy to dogs, 4 or throw your pearls before swine, lest they trample them underfoot, and turn and tear you to pieces.”  (Matthew 7:6)

Observation: I am hearing this morning in the Gospel reading that it is important to recognize the impenitent Christian.  I know that at times I can look like one, I am sure.  So, I hope the Gospel would not be saying that we should judge those people as unsalvagable.  I am sure that the Gospel is telling me to look at the people that would call themselves Christians and live lives completely contrary to the Gospel with a wary eye.  I am hearing this morning that I can’t be willing to give myself completely to someone who has proven time and time again that they are unwilling to see themselves as broken and in need of a savior.

Personification:  Kindness – The strength of Christ’s love which leads us to a greater service. Even after reading this admonition from the Gospel this morning to be careful where I place my trust, I still feel called to show his kindness to everyone because it is only by displaying this fruit of kindness that anyone will be able to see Christ through me.  I know that I can be an impenitent Christian at times and I hope that God’s grace brings me through these moments of doubt into the fulfillment of his plan for me.

Prayer: Lord, bring me to a place in my life that I can be constantly thankful for the graces and peace that you have brought to me.  Help me remember those times that I have not been repentant of my own sins when dealing with impenitent Christians in your ministry today and for the rest of my life.  I ask this, as always, in the name of the Father and of the Son and of the holy Spirit.  Amen.

Leave a Reply

