Remember this…Consider this…Understand this…

Standard

Gift: Counsel (Right Judgment) – With the gift of right judgment, we know the difference between right and wrong, and we choose to do what is right. A person with right judgment avoids sin and lives out the values taught by Jesus.

Reading: A slave of the Lord should not quarrel, but should be gentle with everyone, able to teach, tolerant, correcting opponents with kindness. It may be that God will grant them repentance that leads to knowledge of the truth, 6 and that they may return to their senses out of the devil’s snare, where they are entrapped by him, for his will.  (2 Timothy 2:24-26)

Observation: In preparing to lead our communion service this morning, since our Pastor is on vacation, I was lead to jump from one scripture to the next.  I understand that this may have left those present for the service to be a little confused.  However, it is my hope that they may have gotten a glimpse into the working of the holy Spirit in my morning scripture journaling activity.  Maybe, they just heard that Jesus is rooting for them, which is definitely what I heard this morning.

Personification: Self-Control – Learning to discipline my time, energy and desires to reflect my spiritual values and priorities.  In the first reading that I finally got to this morning, I heard a reminder to continue to correct my brothers and sisters with kindness, as I know the holy Spirit has been leading me to do lately.  It is not necessary to get involved in disputes of the truth, I am hearing the call to let the truth stand alone and allow those that choose to walk in it to find it on their own, with the prompting of the holy Spirit.

Prayer: Lord, help me remember to not only pray for my brothers and sisters in Christ, but to correct and admonish them when prompted to do so by the holy Spirit.  Thank you Jesus for caring about me and lifting me up to our Father.  Lord Jesus Christ, Son of God, have mercy on me a sinner.  Amen.

2 thoughts on “Remember this…Consider this…Understand this…

  1. mom

    I have been struggling with this lately. Working around people and not speaking up when I know I should. It is so much easier to keep silent and not point out the sin in the world. I wish I did not have to be around people sometimes but I know it is God’s will that we speak our faith to the lost. It is just not easy.

    • When I correct with kindness, it is usually with some type of humor, not accusing humor, just good natured humor, it makes me feel good. I think this reading was telling me that it is what I am supposed to be doing. God bless you and please pray for me…

Leave a Reply

