Jesus says, “Ask the master…” So shouldn’t we?

Standard

Gift:  Knowledge – With the gift of knowledge, we understand the meaning of God’s Revelation, especially as expressed in the life and words of Jesus Christ. A person with knowledge is always learning more about the scriptures and Tradition.

Reading:  23 Then he said to his disciples, “The harvest is abundant but the laborers are few; so ask the master of the harvest to send out laborers for his harvest.”  (Matthew 9:37-38)

Observation:  It says in the footnotes of the New American Bible 23 for these two verses that the original Q source that these verses are taken from, that the idea of asking God to send out laborers is only imperfectly related to the original context.  However, Matthew is making a great point to me this morning in reminding me to ask the master of the harvest to send out laborers for his harvest and stop trying to do it by myself.  The reality is that I can do nothing without the will of God on my side, and even if I know that the will of God is with me I must rely on the His will to accomplish this particular task.  It is my hope that my will is able to stay out of the way enough and be present when He is using me to give a nudge here and there.

Personification:  Kindness – The strength of Christ’s love which leads us to a greater service.  What a perfect fruit to focus on today!  If only I can display the fruit of kindness to everyone that I meet today and for the rest of my life, I can be led to greater service and hopefully others to will be led to lives of greater service right along with me.  Especially, as this greater service relates to bringing more men and women that are desperately needed in consecrated life as priests and nuns.

Prayer: 

Lord, make me an instrument of your peace;
where there is hatred, let me sow love;
where there is injury, pardon:
where there is doubt, faith ;
where there is despair, hope
where there is darkness, light
where there is sadness, joy
O divine Master,
grant that I may not so much seek to be consoled as to console;
to be understood, as to understand;
to be loved, as to love;
for it is in giving that we receive,
it is in pardoning that we are pardoned,
and it is in dying that we are born to Eternal Life.
I ask this, as always, in the name of the Father and of the Son and of the holy Spirit…
 
Amen.

St Francis of Assisi, pray for us…

Leave a Reply

