The worthy house receives peace…

Standard

Gift:  Understanding With the gift of understanding, we comprehend how we need to live as a follower of Jesus Christ. A person with understanding is not confused by all the conflicting messages in our culture about the right way to live.

Reading:  If the house is worthy, let your peace come upon it; if not, let your peace return to you. 6  7 Whoever will not receive you or listen to your words–go outside that house or town and shake the dust from your feet.  (Matthew 10:13-14)

Observation:  I was going to leave out the 14th verse in my reflection today, but it was the 14th verse so how could I leave it out…Anyway, I am hearing this morning a reminder that I should not only be about bringing God’s word to the people of God but sharing it with anyone who would hear.  These verses give me a clear understanding that if someone does not accept his word, that it will return to me and what could be better than having God word be reinforced inside of me.  The shaking of the dust from my feet will only come when God has revealed to me that the house that I am trying to bring peace to is completely without hope of accepting his Word.

Personification:  Joy – The ability to celebrate life even in the midst of pain and confusion.  The best way to make a display of the fruit of joy in my life is to truly celebrate life in a way that show how completely and totally I trust God.  Regardless of my situation, I want to be able to display this spirit of celebration at all times.

Prayer:  Today, I thought I would share a prayer that I try and say after every time I receive communion…

The
Anima
Christi
The Anima Christi is a prayer from around the 14th century. It is still widely used after receiving the body and blood of Our Lord,
Jesus Christ in Holy Communion.
Soul of Christ, sanctify me
Body of Christ, save me
Blood of Christ, inebriate me
Water from Christ’s side, wash me
Passion of Christ, strengthen me
O good Jesus, hear me
Within Thy wounds hide me
Suffer me not to be separated from Thee
From the malicious enemy defend me
In the hour of my death call me
And bid me come unto Thee
That I may praise Thee with Thy saints

and with Thy angels
Forever and ever
Amen

I ask this, as always, in the name of the Father and of the Son and of the holy Spirit.  Amen. 

Leave a Reply

