Am I still looking for a sign?

Standard

10 views of Jerusalem...Harper's Weekly print...

Gift:  Wisdom– With the gift of wisdom, we see God at work in our lives and in the world. For the wise person, the wonders of nature, historical events, and the ups and downs of our lives take on deeper meaning. The matters of judgment about the truth, and being able to see the whole image of God.

Reading:  He said to them in reply, “An evil and unfaithful 28 generation seeks a sign, but no sign will be given it except the sign of Jonah the prophet.  Just as Jonah was in the belly of the whale three days and three nights, 29 so will the Son of Man be in the heart of the earth three days and three nights.  (Matthew 12:39-40)

Observation:  This morning after I read the readings for today’s Mass readings online, I felt compelled to watch the video reflections because as I knew that with some clarity from a much more insightful scholar, I knew it would be easier to share a reflection with our community of believers that come to our daily communion service.  However, it just gave me more things to reflect on, but most importantly Father Michael Manning said that we should see Jesus rebuke of the Pharisees here as a call to greater faith to the Word of God to help us be able to see the signs that are happening all around us.

Personification:  Long-suffering (Positive Attitude) – Because we know we are love by God, we are able to put up with the injuries, slights, and outrages of life.  I know that I should trust God and forgive everyone who offends me in any way, but this is a very hard thing to do if you are not focusing on God’s Word.  I must remember that God’s Word gives me the ability to not only share my faith, but to even have it at all in the face of whatever adversity that may befall me in my faith walk.

Prayer:  Lord, help me to see you at work in my life through my reading of your Word and allow your grace to flow through me to others today and for the rest of my life.  I ask this, as always, in the name of the Father and of the Son and of the holy Spirit.  Amen.

Leave a Reply

