Are there ten innocents left?

Standard

I think my answer is yes to the above question...

Gift:  Fear of the Lord (Wonder and Awe) – With the gift of wonder and awe (fear of the lord), we are aware of the glory and majesty of God. A person with wonder and awe knows that God is the perfection of all we desire: perfect knowledge, perfect goodness, perfect power, and perfect love.

Reading:  But he still persisted: “Please, let not my Lord grow angry if I speak up this last time. What if there are at least ten there?” “For the sake of those ten,” he replied, “I will not destroy it.”  (Genesis 18:32)

These are two more of the innocents in my opinion...

Observation:  I could have taken the easy road today and journaled on the Gospel reading for today, because it is a powerful reading.  However, since we are going to Mass with the Archbishop of San Diego later today.  I will let his homily speak to my heart about the Gospel.  However, this first reading was not something that I could just read this morning and not post my commentary on what I hear God saying to us.  It is clear to me that I need to be an advocate to the Father like Abraham was in his day, so that God sees that there are at least 10 innocents left.  Not that I believe that He does not know already, but it should be on my heart to live in a state of prayer for those that have not yet accepted the truth, in the hope that God will relent his punishment until they have had the chance to answer the call to holiness.

Application:  Patience – Enables us to handle frustration and conflict without becoming unduly edgy or annoyed.  I hope that today and for the rest of my life I can display the fruit of patience, not only in my life but allow the fruit of my patience spill out to those around me so they can see how peaceful it is to not get edgy or annoyed. 

Prayer:  Lord, help me to stay focused again today on your Word and also on the needs of the people around me.  I ask this, as always, in the name of the Father and of the Son and of the holy Spirit.  Amen.

Leave a Reply

