Familiarity breeds contempt…

Standard

 

Googled, "Prophet, not without honor"

Gift:  Piety (Reverence) – With the gift of reverence, sometimes called piety, we have a deep sense of respect for God and the Church. A person with reverence recognizes our total reliance on God and comes before God with humility, trust, and love.

Reading:  27 He came to his native place and taught the people in their synagogue. They were astonished 28 and said, “Where did this man get such wisdom and mighty deeds?  (Matthew 13:54)

Observation:  I have noticed before that Jesus was not accepted in his own hometown and usually I have taken this to mean that it was hard for people to accept him because they knew his family.  This morning, I am noticing that it was more their familiarity with him as something other than a prophet that made it difficult to accept him as one.  For me, it is important to see that Jesus does not waste time with trying to convince them, because their opinion of him is not vital to his mission.  This is true for us as well, especially if you are involved in ministry, the opinion others may have of you is not important, rather their being able to see the Word of God come alive through your words and actions that is important.  If they don’t accept it because of your past experiences with them or because of their familiarity with you, pray for their conversion and go back to the work of sharing the Good News with the world.

Personification:  Humility (Gentleness) – An inner strength that permits us to be aware of our own abilities without having to make a show of them.  It is my hope that the fruit of humility will come easy to me today because of the gift of grace that I have recieved from the the holy Spirit.  As I prepare for a week with 20 high school youth who I am positive will keep me humble at our God Camp at Saint Benedict’s Lodge, it is important for me to take time to understand that it is only by the grace and power of God that I can accomplish anything.

Prayer:  Lord, create in me a humble heart that longs for service of others.  I ask this, as always, in the name of the Father and of the Son and of the holy Spirit.  Amen.

Leave a Reply

