Repent from the evil, or commit it?

Standard

 

The tornado from my dream last night...

  

Gift:  Knowledge – With the gift of knowledge, we understand the meaning of God’s Revelation, especially as expressed in the life and words of Jesus Christ. A person with knowledge is always learning more about the scriptures and Tradition.

Reading:  3 But Ahikam, son of Shaphan, protected Jeremiah, so that he was not handed over to the people to be put to death.  (Jeremiah 26:24)

&

The king was distressed, but because of his oaths and the guests who were present, he ordered that it be given, and he had John beheaded in the prison. (Matthew 14:9-10)

Observation:  My feeling on these readings today are that God is trying to tell me that I should look at whatever decision that I am making and discern whether or not it is the most loving response to where God has brought me to so far.  For the King in Jeremiah’s time, he repented of the evil that was going to be done to Jeremiah and we remember his name as the King who protected the prophet of God.  As for King Herod, he did not repent of the evil that was being done to the prophet John the Baptist, and we remember him as the one who killed the prophet.  How do we want to be remembered?

Personification:  Self-Control – Learning to discipline my time, energy and desires to reflect my spiritual values and priorities.  It is my hope that I can display the fruit of self-control in my life and in the lives of my immediate family.  If I can do a better job disciplining my time, I will be able to display more accurately how my heart feels about my faith.

Prayer:  Lord, help me to do a better job disciplining my time and energy to better show the inclinations or leaning of my heart toward you.  I ask this, as always, in the name of the Father and of the Son and of the holy Spirit.  Amen.

Leave a Reply

