Do we deserve time to mourn?

Standard

We miss you brother...

Gift:  Fortitude (Courage) – With the gift of courage, we overcome our fear and are willing to take risk as a follower of Jesus. A person with courage is willing to stand up for what is right in the sight of God, even if it means accepting rejection, verbal abuse, or even physical harm and death.

Reading:  4 When Jesus heard of it, he withdrew in a boat to a deserted place by himself. The crowds heard of this and followed him on foot from their towns.  (Matthew 14:13)

Observation:  It struck me this morning that when Jesus wanted to take some time in a deserted place, he was not only followed but they made considerable effort to follow him.  The news of his cousin’s passing had to be stressful, even though he knew the plan.  Jesus, the man, would have wanted to take some time to remember the life of his cousin and ponder what his death meant to his followers.  However, it is important to realize for me that the mission that God has for us takes precedence over whatever we may think is important.

Personification:  Love (Charity) – Quick to sense the needs of the people with whom we work and live and respond as Jesus would.  It will be important today for me to be able to display the fruit of Love to everyone whom I may come in contact with.  Even though I would prefer to spend some time alone with my Lord to think about the passing of my friend last year, I am here at God Camp, just like last year and I am sure God will use me as he sees fit.  Besides, if our Savior did not get time to mourn, who am I to expect to get this time.

Prayer:  Lord, help me to stay focused on your will for me and help me be an example to help lead people to Christ.  I ask this, as always, in the name of the Father and of the Son and of the holy Spirit.  Amen.

 

Leave a Reply

