“Forget about me, I love you”…Father Stan!

Standard

Gift:  Piety (Reverence) – With the gift of reverence, sometimes called piety, we have a deep sense of respect for God and the Church. A person with reverence recognizes our total reliance on God and comes before God with humility, trust, and love.

Reading:  “I am troubled 17 now. Yet what should I say? ‘Father, save me from this hour’? But it was for this purpose that I came to this hour.  (John 12:27)

Observation:   So, I am reading today that Jesus struggled with the way in which God was calling him to complete his mission.  For me, I know that God is in control of this world, and I don’t think I would struggle with the end of my life.  However, I struggle with how God is asking me to complete the task that he has called me to right now.

Personification:  Love (Charity) – Quick to sense the needs of the people with whom we work and live and respond as Jesus would.  I hope that I can respond to the needs of others in the same way that Jesus would, especially my family.  When I hear the words, “Forget about me, I love you”, I think that Father Stan is giving us the message from God that we must lose our selfishness and love each other.

Prayer:  Lord, help me realize the needs of others before my own needs and allow me to stay focused on your will for me today until you call me home.  I ask this, as always, in the name of the Father and of the Son and of the holy Spirit.  Amen.

Leave a Reply

