Forgiveness…

Standard

Who, me...forgiveness?

Gift:  Wisdom– With the gift of wisdom, we see God at work in our lives and in the world. For the wise person, the wonders of nature, historical events, and the ups and downs of our lives take on deeper meaning. The matters of judgment about the truth, and being able to see the whole image of God.

Reading:  When he began the accounting, a debtor was brought before him who owed him a huge amount. Since he had no way of paying it back, his master ordered him to be sold, along with his wife, his children, and all his property, in payment of the debt.  (Matthew 18:24-25)

Observation:  I am hearing this morning in the gospel reading today a call to remember that all of my sins, no matter how small could never be repaid by my own action.  It is only by the sacrifice of our Lord that my debt is paid.  It is a free gift that He gives me, and I should be willing to give that free gift to others just as easily as I have come to know the forgiveness that comes from our Lord.

Personification:  Faith/Fidelity – The ability to stick to our work and to stay firm in our commitment to God and to God’s people with whom we are connected.  It is my hope that by understanding this forgiveness as a free gift, I can display the fruit of faith by my forgiveness of anyone who injurs me in any way.  It would be great to begin with my immediate family. 

Prayer:  Our Father, who art in Heaven.  Hallowed be thy name.  Thy Kingdom.  Thy will be done, on earth as it is in Heaven.  Give us this day our daily bread, forgive us our trespasses as we forgive those who trespass against us and lead us not into temptation but deliver us from evil.  I ask this, as always, in the name of the Father and of the Son and of the holy Spirit.  Amen.

Leave a Reply

