Do you want a big family?

Standard

John Paul n Mother MaryGift:  Knowledge – With the gift of knowledge, we understand the meaning of God’s Revelation, especially as expressed in the life and words of Jesus Christ. A person with knowledge is always learning more about the scriptures and Tradition.

Reading:  And everyone who has given up houses or brothers or sisters or father or mother or children or lands for the sake of my name will receive a hundred times more, and will inherit eternal life.  (Matthew 19:29)

Observation:  After Mass this morning in our packed small chapel of our Education Center at Saint Alice Parish, I was left with the awesome knowledge of the fact that I have all of these brothers and sisters in Christ that are a part of my family.  Thanks to Father Roy for explaining this verse in light of the fact that this is what Jesus could have been talking about.  The knowledge of all of the new brothers and sisters that I have, even though my biological brothers and sisters have not yet come into full communion with the church.

Personification:  Long-suffering (Positive Attitude) – Because we know we are love by God, we are able to put up with the injuries, slights, and outrages of life.  It will be my focus today and hopefully for the rest of my life to be about the work that a disciple of Christ would be about, regardless of the trials of the others around me.  I don’t need to focus on others issues, if God wants me to deal with them, he will put those people in my life in a way that I could possibly be a good example for them.  Meanwhile, I must focus on the fact that God wants me to be positive in the face of whatever suffering may come my way today.

Prayer:  Lord, help me through the intercession of Pope John Paul II to spend more time today and the rest of my life in prayer through the rosary and our blessed Mother.  I ask this, as always, in the name of the Father and of the Son and of the holy Spirit.  Amen.

Leave a Reply

