So you are saying I have a chance, even now?

Standard

Gift:  Wisdom– With the gift of wisdom, we see God at work in our lives and in the world. For the wise person, the wonders of nature, historical events, and the ups and downs of our lives take on deeper meaning. The matters of judgment about the truth, and being able to see the whole image of God.

Reading:  6 Thus, the last will be first, and the first will be last.”  (Matthew 20:16)

Observation:  This verse is a repetition in reverse order of the verse that ended the previous chapter from the Gospel of Matthew.  I mention that not to show that I am smart, but to say that it must have been important to the writer of the Gospel of Matthew to point this verse out twice that originally appeared in the Gospel of Mark.  This information I got from the footnotes of the readings that I read online this morning, and I try and read every morning.  Anyway, the point is that I see now is that it doesn’t matter what point you are at in your life.  If you start accepting the truth today and the benefit of eternal life can be yours, just like the guy who has been following Jesus his whole life.  The first shall be last and the last shall be first…

Personification:    Modesty – No longer needing to impress other people with our power or degrees or connections or wealth.  I need to remember that it is not me, but God working through me that gives me the opportunity to share the Good News with the world.  The fruit of modesty must be displayed in simple ways in order to prepare me to show it in the more difficult times.

Prayer:  Lord, it is my intention to follow you, but you know the struggles that I have with the sinful nature that I have.  Please make me a new creation, so that I can better share the Gospel with my family and my community.  I ask this, as always, in the name of the Father and of the Son and of the holy Spirit.  Amen.

Leave a Reply

