The law liberates, it should not be a burden…

Standard

Saint Benedict's Altar...

Gift:  Understanding – With the gift of understanding, we comprehend how we need to live as a follower of Jesus Christ. A person with understanding is not confused by all the conflicting messages in our culture about the right way to live.

Reading:  They tie up heavy burdens 3 (hard to carry) and lay them on people’s shoulders, but they will not lift a finger to move them.  (Matthew 23:4)

Observation:  In this Gospel verse this morning, even though the footnotes explain that Jesus was talking to the Scribes and Pharisees, I can see a parallel to our society that tells us that the law is so hard to follow.  I submit that the law of the church is only hard to follow if you don’t understand the meaning of why the law exists.  To me, the law exists in our faith to liberate us from the issues that are created when we are too strict in following the man made laws that do not save us from ourselves but rather turn us in on ourselves.  Thanks be to God for giving us the church.

Personification:  Love (Charity) – Quick to sense the needs of the people with whom we work and live and respond as Jesus would.  It is my hope that today I can sense the needs of others and follow the example of Jesus in loving everyone that I come in contact with.  The method of showing that love will be determined by the ability of the other person to accept love, but I will try and be ready regardless of when the opportunity presents itself.

Prayer:  Lord, help me to be ready to not only explain the liberating power of the truth, but show in my life how I have been saved by the grace that you have given me freely.  I ask this, as always, in the name of the Father and of the Son and of the holy Spirit.  Amen.

Leave a Reply

