Once again, the first shall be last and the last shall be first…

Standard

 Gift:  Piety (Reverence) – With the gift of reverence, sometimes called piety, we have a deep sense of respect for God and the Church. A person with reverence recognizes our total reliance on God and comes before God with humility, trust, and love.

Daijon bringing home the mail...

 

Reading:  For behold, some are last who will be first, and some are first who will be last.”  (Luke 13:30)

Observation:  So, it comes to us from the Gospel reading for today’s Mass, but this time it is not from Matthew or Mark, it is from Luke.  Of all four Gospel writers, I believe it was Luke that was most directed at the Gentiles, which is why I feel most like he is talking directly to me when I see quotes from Jesus in his Gospel.  I mentioned a couple of days ago when this same quote was used in the Gospel reading that came from Matthew’s Gospel, that it doesn’t matter when we hear the call to follow Jesus, the reward is the same.  However, I feel like it is important to say that once we hear the call, it is necessary for us to follow through with this call in order to continue to share in the Kingdom of Heaven that God is creating here on earth today.  Sure, it doesn’t matter if you are eight or eighty years old when you here it, the reward is the same when you die, but how do you want to live out the rest of your days on earth is the question you must ask yourself?

Personification:  Goodness – A real desire to live a holy life, to set a good example by our conduct where we are.  I don’t often choose to focus on goodness, because I feel like this is not something that I can display.  As the Archbishop said when I got the awesome opportunity to go to daily Mass with him last year, we are worthless sinners.  (He said that about himself, by the way.)  It is by the grace of God that I am not involved in some type of sinful activity right now, so I will thank God today by showing his goodness to others by living out the Good News in my life.

Nelson, Danny and Mateo...

Prayer:  Lord, help me to live out the Good News in my life today.  Please allow me to be able to show others what a person who follows the will of God looks like.  I ask this, as always, in the name of the Father and of the Son and of the holy Spirit.  Amen.

Leave a Reply

