The Feast of Saint Bartholomew…

Standard

Gift:  Knowledge – With the gift of knowledge, we understand the meaning of God’s Revelation, especially as expressed in the life and words of Jesus Christ. A person with knowledge is always learning more about the scriptures and Tradition.

Reading:  And he said to him, “Amen, amen, 36 I say to you, you will see the sky opened and the angels of God ascending and descending on the Son of Man.”  (John 1:51)

Observation:  The footnotes for the verse I picked today say that Jesus was alluding to the vision that Nathanael would have of Jacob’s ladder.  Now, if I had just proclaimed that I was in the presence of the Son of God, the King of Israel and he responded to me that I would see a vision of the sky opening and angels of God ascending and descending, I would be left with a great sense of anticipation.  Of course, since there is no duplicity in Nathanael, he probably just accepted this fact that he would recieve this vision and patiently awaited the next command from his new found King.

Personification:  Patience – Enables us to handle frustration and conflict without becoming unduly edgy or annoyed.  I call on Saint Bartholomew to intercede for me to the Father to give me patience to endure whatever trials are coming for me today.  I know that it was probably not easy to follow Jesus in his time and it probably took much patience for the path of following the will of the Father to become clear.  I want to be more like him in following the will of the Father without questioning the need for whatever suffering I must go through.

Prayer:  Lord, help me to be able to display patience today and let the fruit of patience show others around me that there is no duplicity in me.  Please help me to use Saint Bartholomew as an example today and for the rest of my life.  I ask this, as always, in the name of the Father and fo the Son and of the holy Spirit.  Amen.

Leave a comment