Where are we called to action?

Standard

Googled, "Resurrection of the righteous"

Gift:  Understanding – With the gift of understanding, we comprehend how we need to live as a follower of Jesus Christ. A person with understanding is not confused by all the conflicting messages in our culture about the right way to live.

Reading:  Rather, when you hold a banquet, invite the poor, the crippled, the lame, the blind; blessed indeed will you be because of their inability to repay you. For you will be repaid at the resurrection of the righteous.  (Luke 14:13-14)

Observation:  Our Pastor today made a great point of using this Gospel reading to point out how we make it a point in this country to help others when the needy are people that we can identify with.  However, in the case of the flood victims in Pakistan, no one is helping because they are not identifying with them, or they just don’t care.  From my point of view, I will take it one step further than Father Roy was willing to go.  I see that people are willing to help when they see that those people they are helping could be of use to them in the future.  How many people went to Haiti to “help” children find a home?  When they secretly were hoping to adopt a child.  How many people helped during the Katrina disaster because they felt like they would help us, if we ever found ourselves victim of the same sort of disaster.  Like Roy, I believe there are some people that give of themselves because they are just gifted with a giving heart.  However, I believe the masses only give when they see a benefit to them in some way, or in the case of the second collection this morning, they are guilted into it by their Pastor.

Personification:  Faith/Fidelity – The ability to stick to our work and to stay firm in our commitment to God and to God’s people with whom we are connected.  For me to display my faith, I must truly stick to the work that God is calling me to.  Regardless of how it seems that people are reacting to the decisions that are being made in order to make our Youth Ministry better or focus our Religious Education program on the goal of supporting the parents in raising their children in the faith.  I must stay focused on where God is calling me to and not be concerned with how others perceive the changes.

Prayer:  Lord, keep me faithful to your word in everything that I do today and help me stay focused on doing your will at all times.  I ask this, as always, in the name of the Father and of the Son and of the holy Spirit.  Amen.

Leave a Reply

