The year that Jesus proclaimed from Isaiah, is it over?

Standard

Love thy neighbor...

Gift:  Piety (Reverence) – With the gift of reverence, sometimes called piety, we have a deep sense of respect for God and the Church. A person with reverence recognizes our total reliance on God and comes before God with humility, trust, and love.

Reading:  “The Spirit of the Lord is upon me, 9 because he has anointed me to bring glad tidings to the poor. He has sent me to proclaim liberty to captives and recovery of sight to the blind, to let the oppressed go free, and to proclaim a year acceptable to the Lord.” He said to them, “Today this scripture passage is fulfilled in your hearing.” 10 (Luke 4:18-19,21)

Observation:  It is my understanding that this reading of the scroll that happened in the synagogue is something that was very normal until Jesus said the words that the scripture passage is fulfilled in their hearing.  Jesus says that the time of salvation has come.  We should be dancing in the streets, but we would rather lament over the fact that we haven’t acheived worldly wealth.  Maybe it wasn’t just Nazareth that couldn’t accept the prophetic words of their most favored Son.

Personification:  Love (Charity) – Quick to sense the needs of the people with whom we work and live and respond as Jesus would.  

It is not just Nazareth that Jesus came to bring the message of Good News to, so when they can’t accept it, he moves to Capernaum to find those people willing to accept the message.  If I am going to display the fruit of love to others, I must remember that it is not only those people who initially accepted the message that I am called to bring the Good News to, but I must be willing to move on to my Capernaum and continue the work that God called me to.  It does not matter if the original people follow, and there is a good chance that they won’t.  😦

Prayer:  Lord, help me to move on when the faithful are no longer being faithful and to not look back wondering if they are going to follow.  Please help me accept your will in my life and the life of your church.  I ask this, as always, in the name of the Father and of the Son and of the holy Spirit.  Amen.

Leave a Reply

