The church members own the church…

Standard

I was thinking of the greater church, but this is a good start…

Gift:  Piety (Reverence) – With the gift of reverence, sometimes called piety, we have a deep sense of respect for God and the Church. A person with reverence recognizes our total reliance on God and comes before God with humility, trust, and love.

Reading:  10 So let no one boast about human beings, for everything belongs to you, Paul or Apollos or Cephas, or the world or life or death, or the present or the future: all belong to you, and you to Christ, and Christ to God.  (1 Corinthians 3:21-23)

&

To the Lord belongs the earth and all that fills it.  (Psalm 24:1)

Observation:  It is amazing how you can read scripture sometimes and put your own spin on it without even knowing you are doing it.  In this reading and the Responsorial Psalm for today, I did that when I read through them for the first time this morning.  The way the response is phrased, it looked like the Lord belongs to the earth, when it is saying the exact opposite of that.  Along with the first reading, where I was seeing Paul telling the Corinthians that he and the other church leaders were in charge, when he was saying the opposite.  Unless we really study scripture, it is easy to get the wrong message.  Thanks be to God for giving me the time this morning to devote to really understanding the scripture, so I can apply it.

Personification:  Kindness – The strength of Christ’s love which leads us to a greater service.  It is the knowledge that the church members are the owners of the church that will hopefully lead me to a greater ability to show the fruit of kindness today to others by becoming a better disciple of Jesus Christ.  The love that comes from Christ through his Word is obvious to me today, and I hope in my own little way, I can share that with others.

Prayer:  Lord, prepare my heart to be able to display the fruit of kindness to everyone I meet today, so they can come away with the knowledge that the church exists to lead them to become a better disciple of Jesus Christ.  I ask this, as always, in the name of the Father and of the Son and of the holy Spirit.  Amen.

Saint Alice Catholic Church

I was thinking of the greater church, but this is a good start...

Leave a Reply

