The Lord is near to all who call upon him.

Standard
Stained glass at St John the Baptist's Anglica...

Image via Wikipedia

Gift:  Piety (Reverence) – With the gift of reverence, sometimes called piety, we have a deep sense of respect for God and the Church. A person with reverence recognizes our total reliance on God and comes before God with humility, trust, and love.

Reading:  Then he said to them, “The Son of Man is lord of the sabbath.”  (Luke 6:5)

Observation:  When thinking about the fact that Jesus made the things that the apostles did while they were with him lawful, even though they broke the law according to the scribes and pharisees, I am reminded of a scripture that I memorized some time ago in relation to my own actions today and forever for that matter.  It was 1 Corinthians 6:12, in which Paul says,4 “Everything is lawful for me,” 5 but not everything is beneficial. “Everything is lawful for me,” but I will not let myself be dominated by anything.  So, although Jesus came to make all things new and give us the ability to become a new creation, he does not want us to use our new creation to fall into further temptation and thereby more sin.  The end of that verse was, “I will not let myself be dominated by anything.”  In case you missed it, I thought I would rewrite it, so you could see that I think this is the point of the message I received this morning.

Personification:  Love (Charity) – Quick to sense the needs of the people with whom we work and live and respond as Jesus would.  To me, the fruit of love or charity is easy…I think.  When you are acting in the way of God’s will, it is easy to recognize how to help God’s people.  It is only when I am acting out of my own selfishness that I find it difficult to see how I could help others.  When I am acting unselfishly, I am even unaware at times of how God is showing the fruit of charity through me.

Prayer:  Lord, help me to be more aware of ways that I can show the love that you have shown me to others.  Please do this for me today and for the rest of my life.  I ask this, as always, in the name of the Father and of the Son and of the holy Spirit.  Amen.

Leave a Reply

