God is speaking to me, don’t you want to know what he said?

Standard
Church of the Nativity of the Blessed Virgin M...

Image via Wikipedia

Gift:  Wisdom– With the gift of wisdom, we see God at work in our lives and in the world. For the wise person, the wonders of nature, historical events, and the ups and downs of our lives take on deeper meaning. The matters of judgment about the truth, and being able to see the whole image of God.

Reading:  5 We know that all things work for good for those who love God, 6 who are called according to his purpose.  (Romans 8:28)

&

11 “Behold, the virgin shall be with child and bear a son, and they shall name him Emmanuel,” which means “God is with us.”  (Matthew 1:23)

Observation:  This morning was full of activity in my house as we made ready to send Chad to Middle School and Kobe off to 3rd grade.  They both went into the school by themselves, which seemed weird only because all the other parents were walking their kids in.  I was concerned about making it to Mass at 8:30am, so I just dropped them and left.  Of course, I also had two schools to drop them at, so I couldn’t have walked them both in any way.  I made it to Mass right on time, and it was awesome as usual.  The fact that God thinks that I am worth him offering his Son to repair me is incredible.  Anyway, the celebration of the Nativity of the Blessed Virgin Mary serves as a great reminder of the work that God had to do to bring us a Savior.  I was thinking of Mary’s parents and their parents and so on and so on.  The grace that flowed through the generations of chosen people to bring us a Savior is truly amazing.

Personification:  Goodness – A real desire to live a holy life, to set a good example by our conduct where we are.  When you take the first verse from the first reading at face value, it is a great way to see that God wants goodness for us.  It is my job to see his goodness in all things that he does for me and for those around me.  If I ever find myself seeing evil coming from God’s creation, I need to stop myself and remember that all things work together for good for those who love God, and are called according to his purpose.

Prayer:  Lord, continue to speak to me through your Word and the people who you are calling forward to bring your Word to us through the church.  I ask this, as always, in the name of the Father and of the Son and of the holy Spirit.  Amen.

Leave a Reply

