How lovely is your dwelling place, Lord, mighty God!

Standard
Jesus

Image via Wikipedia

Gift:  Counsel (Right Judgment) – With the gift of right judgment, we know the difference between right and wrong, and we choose to do what is right. A person with right judgment avoids sin and lives out the values taught by Jesus.

Reading:  2 As the sparrow finds a home and the swallow a nest to settle her young, My home is by your altars, LORD of hosts, my king and my God!  (Psalm 84:4)

Observation: The first reading and the Gospel reading from today’s Mass readings are full of richness of knowledge, but they are just too much for me today. I would rather focus on the Responsorial Psalm for today. The response is the title for my post today. Wouldn’t it be great if we saw our bodies as well as our churches as the dwelling places of the Lord? Would we change the way we act when we considered everyone and all places as dwelling places of the Lord? I read the fourth verse from the 84th Psalm this morning and realized immediately why most people, including myself, wander aimlessly through life until they find the altar that God has called them too.

Personification:  Self-Control – Learning to discipline my time, energy and desires to reflect my spiritual values and priorities.  It must be a priority for me every day to make sure that my day is fully planned and scheduled out, so that the things that I spend time on display the fruit of self-control that comes to me from the holy Spirit. 

Prayer:  Lord, help me to be in communion with you at all times today, especially when I lose focus on the tasks that you would have me complete today.  I ask this, as always, in the name of the Father and of the Son and of the holy Spirit.  Amen.

Leave a Reply

