Am I a good person?

Standard
 

   

  

These guys make me question my ability to display the fruit of goodness, at times...

 

 Gift:  Piety (Reverence) – With the gift of reverence, sometimes called piety, we have a deep sense of respect for God and the Church. A person with reverence recognizes our total reliance on God and comes before God with humility, trust, and love.  

Reading:  A good person out of the store of goodness in his heart produces good, but an evil person out of a store of evil produces evil; for from the fullness of the heart the mouth speaks.  (Luke 6:45)  

Observation:  It is my intention to illicit responses by posting the title that I posted.  Hopefully people will read the words of Jesus from Luke’s Gospel reading from today’s Mass readings and seriously question whether I am a good person.  It is not by the world’s standards that I hoping to be judged, rather the standard set forth by the Word of God, specifically here in this verse of the Gospel.  

Personification:  Goodness – A real desire to live a holy life, to set a good example by our conduct where we are.  It is truly my desire to be able to display this fruit of goodness by setting a good example with my conduct.  I may feel like an unworthy vessel, but I know by the grace of God, He will continue to show me the way and I will hopefully be able to see it clearly.  

Prayer:  Lord, make me into the person that you want me to be.  Please give me the grace necessary to follow through with your will for my life.  I ask this, as always, in the name of the Father and of the Son and of the holy Spirit.  Amen.

Leave a Reply

