Who wants eternal life? Who wants it right now?

Standard
Fountain of Eternal Life

Image via Wikipedia

Gift:  Wisdom– With the gift of wisdom, we see God at work in our lives and in the world. For the wise person, the wonders of nature, historical events, and the ups and downs of our lives take on deeper meaning. The matters of judgment about the truth, and being able to see the whole image of God.

Reading:  “No one has gone up to heaven
except the one who has come down from heaven
, the Son of Man.
And just as Moses lifted up the serpent in the desert,
so must the Son of Man be lifted up,
so that everyone who believes in him may have eternal life.”  (John 3:13-15)

Observation:  I feel like it is important to say something that I believe I have said before in my journaling, but bears repeating.  It is not the duration of life that Jesus is talking about here.  It is the quality of life that He is speaking of when He says that if we believe in Him we may have eternal life.  Eternal life is the life that I want to have, not when I die, now.

Personification:  Self-Control – Learning to discipline my time, energy and desires to reflect my spiritual values and priorities.  I am posting this late in the day, so it is my hope that I will remember to wake up tomorrow and plan out my day before I even get started posting my journal.  It is my hope that with a plan for my day, I will better be able to display the fruit of self-control in my life by directing all of my efforts throughout the day toward the same goal of evangelization and living out the good news.

Prayer:  Lord, help me to live out the good news and be able to not only display the fruit of self-control but also take part in the eternal life that Jesus promised in today’s Gospel.  I ask this, as always, in the name of the Father and of the Son and of the holy Spirit.  Amen.

Leave a Reply

