The other reading of the Gospel today…

Standard
The Madonna in Sorrow

Image via Wikipedia

Gift:  Piety (Reverence) – With the gift of reverence, sometimes called piety, we have a deep sense of respect for God and the Church. A person with reverence recognizes our total reliance on God and comes before God with humility, trust, and love.

Reading:  Jesus’ father and mother were amazed at what was said about him; and Simeon blessed them and said to Mary his mother, “Behold, this child is destined for the fall and rise of many in Israel, and to be a sign that will be contradicted and you yourself a sword will pierce so that the thoughts of many hearts may be revealed.”  (Lk 2:33-35)

Observation:  I have always thought of this Gospel account of the words of Simeon to Mary as a foreshadowing of the pain that she would feel when Jesus was killed, even though he was not guilty of anything.  Reading the footnotes this morning, I realized that it must have been hard for Mary to hear Jesus say that people who follow the Word of God are more blessed than her.  It seems almost impossible for a loving Son to say that about his own mother, but it clearly shows that he did not come to save her, he came to save us.  I imagine at first, it had to hurt Mary to hear those words.  Eventually, she would come to understand His mission in much the same way that we should.

Personification:  Love (Charity) – Quick to sense the needs of the people with whom we work and live and respond as Jesus would.  Since God loves me so much that he gave his Son to die for my sins, I should respond to that love by listening to the Word of God and observe it in my life.  I don’t know why but showing the love to my family is hard, but I will make more attempts at this today because I can think of no one who deserves to see the fruit of love from me than my family who puts up with me.

Prayer:  Lord, help me to display the fruit of love in my life today to everyone that I come in contact with.  I ask this, as always, in the name of the Father and of the Son and of the holy Spirit.  Amen.

Leave a Reply

