Her sins are forgiven, and she goes in peace…

Standard
Jesus Christ Crucifix

Image via Wikipedia

Gift:  Fortitude (Courage) – With the gift of courage, we overcome our fear and are willing to take risk as a follower of Jesus. A person with courage is willing to stand up for what is right in the sight of God, even if it means accepting rejection, verbal abuse, or even physical harm and death.

Reading:  But he said to the woman, “Your faith has saved you; go in peace.”  (Luke 7:50)

Observation:  I was trying to understand this morning whether this woman who was forgiven by Jesus Christ in the flesh would have gone back to her sinful nature after she left the presence of Jesus.  In my attempt to figure out if this woman was like me, I realized that if I could see that it was Jesus who exists in the church, I could realize the same forgiveness that she felt when she came into the presence of Jesus at the Pharisee’s home.

Personification:  Peace – Quiet, inner confidence that keeps us from feeling uptight and anxious.  I can’t remember the last time that I chose to focus on the fruit of peace.  It will be my focus today to display the peace that comes from truly being forgiven for my sins.  I will remember that I am in the presence of Jesus when I go to Mass this morning, and hopefully he will see by the love I show him and the others present at the Mass that I truly wish to be forgiven and go in peace.

Prayer:  Lord, please help me to see you in the celebration of the Mass this morning and every time I take part in the Mass and remember to show him the great love shown to him by the great sinner that I am.  I ask this, as always, in the name of the Father and of the Son and of the holy Spirit.  Amen.

Leave a Reply

