What soil do we provide for our children?

Standard

Gift:  Fear of the Lord (Wonder and Awe) – With the gift of wonder and awe (fear of the lord), we are aware of the glory and majesty of God. A person with wonder and awe knows that God is the perfection of all we desire: perfect knowledge, perfect goodness, perfect power, and perfect love.

Reading:  4 “This is the meaning of the parable. The seed is the word of God.  (Luke 8:11)

Observation:  You should watch the video that I found this morning in reference to this parable, because I think it does a great job explaining the parable of the sower.  The reason I found the video is because I needed something that explains this parable to the parents that I will have at a meeting tomorrow, in order to explain our responsibility as parents.  Of course, I will actually need to use another video that I found, because I wanted to use the same video for the Spanish-speaking parents, as I will for the English-speaking parents but there wasn’t a video like this one in Spanish.  So, hear is the one I found:

So, I know it isn’t as cool but I hope it makes the same point that I think God is trying to say to all of us parents.  It is up to us to decide what kind of soil our children have to have the seed of the Word of God sewn in.

Personification:  Faith/Fidelity – The ability to stick to our work and to stay firm in our commitment to God and to God’s people with whom we are connected.  I must stay committed to the work that God is doing through me in the church.  I cannot allow the devil to choke out the good work that is growing in me.  In order to display the fruit of faith, I must have faith that he will continue to provide for me and my family.

Prayer:  Lord, help me to see the Word of God growing in my children and provide for them the good soil that will allow them to yield all the fruit that God expects from them.  I ask this, as always, in the name of the Father and of the Son and of the holy Spirit.  Amen.

Here is one last video to explain this parable:

Leave a Reply

