No one can serve two masters…

Standard
Christogram with Jesus Prayer in Romanian: Lor...

Image via Wikipedia

 

Gift:  Fear of the Lord (Wonder and Awe) – With the gift of wonder and awe (fear of the lord), we are aware of the glory and majesty of God. A person with wonder and awe knows that God is the perfection of all we desire: perfect knowledge, perfect goodness, perfect power, and perfect love. 

Reading:  No servant can serve two masters. 8 He will either hate one and love the other, or be devoted to one and despise the other. You cannot serve God and mammon.  (Luke 16:13) 

Observation:  When I looked at the readings for today’s Mass last week, I felt like the readings were written specifically for the decision that I am now in the process of making about my future career.  However, upon reading them again this morning, I realize that a decision has already been made and I am not in control of that decision.  I should not ever serve mammon again in my life, but can I enter into a partnership with dishonest wealth to provide for my family’s future?  

Personification:  Chastity – Able to form loving and caring friendships, which help us to act appropriately with our gift of sexuality.  It is my goal today to display the fruit of chastity in my life by creating new friends in the church today and finding new and different ways to be loving and caring to them.  

Prayer:  Lord Jesus Christ, Son of God, have mercy on me a sinner.  I ask this, as always, in the name of the Father and of the Son and of the holy Spirit.  Amen. 

Leave a Reply

