Calling all sinners…the righteous need not apply!

Standard
Groom, Texas

Image via Wikipedia

 

Gift:  Knowledge – With the gift of knowledge, we understand the meaning of God’s Revelation, especially as expressed in the life and words of Jesus Christ. A person with knowledge is always learning more about the scriptures and Tradition.  

Reading:  He heard this and said, “Those who are well do not need a physician, but the sick do. 9 Go and learn the meaning of the words, ‘I desire mercy, not sacrifice.’ 10 I did not come to call the righteous but sinners.”  (Matthew 9:12-13)  

Observation:  I asked my son Chad this morning what Jesus meant when he said, “I did not come to call the righteous but sinners.”  He said that the righteous do not need any help, but the sinner does.  Since he did not read the previous verse to this verse, it leads me to believe that the message is meant to be just that.  It sounds simple but if we were already righteous there would be no reason to be called.  However, as sinners, we hear the call and respond out of our sinful nature to a forgiving God.  Since Jesus was perfect, he could evangelize with humility without sin.  I believe, for me,  it is my sin that keeps me humble enough to call other sinners.  Of course, that is if I act in the spirit of repentance and I am constantly looking for ways to cleanse myself of my sin.  I understand that it will only be replaced by another sin, because that is my nature.  However, I take heart that even my sin is part of the greater purpose of God.  By the grace of God, my next sin will not be as egregious as my last.  

Personification:  Joy – The ability to celebrate life even in the midst of pain and confusion.  All too often, I have seen the pain and confusion that comes from the world and missed the pain and confusion that comes from my sin.  It will be my focus today to display the fruit of joy that comes from the being able to celebrate in the midst of my sinfulness.  I am a sinner, but I can still rejoice in the knowledge that Jesus is still calling me.  

Prayer:  Lord Jesus Christ, Son of God, have mercy on me a sinner.  I ask this, as always, in the name of the Father and of the Son and of the holy Spirit.  Amen.  

Leave a Reply

