Add nothing to his words, lest he reprove you…

Standard
Image of Saint Peter's Basilica in Rome, Italy...

Image via Wikipedia

 

Gift:  Piety (Reverence) – With the gift of reverence, sometimes called piety, we have a deep sense of respect for God and the Church. A person with reverence recognizes our total reliance on God and comes before God with humility, trust, and love. 

Reading:  Add nothing to his words, lest he reprove you, and you be exposed as a deceiver.  (Proverbs 30:6) 

He said to them, “Take nothing for the journey, 2 neither walking stick, nor sack, nor food, nor money, and let no one take a second tunic.  (Luke 9:3) 

Observation:  For me, this morning the readings were speaking directly to the situation that I find myself in.  If I was a conspiracy theorist, I would think that our Pastor used the opportunity to point out that I should be comfortable with my situation and not be looking to make something more of myself than what God made me.  Of course, I am talking about money and the fact that I have the opportunity to make a lot of it with the job opportunity that is going to be offered to me from the Knights of Columbus.  However, I need to be about the work that God called me to and not to concerned about making lots of money.  

Personification:  Faith/Fidelity – The ability to stick to our work and to stay firm in our commitment to God and to God’s people with whom we are connected.  It is in the knowledge that God has called me to the work that I am doing that I will be able to display the fruit of faith or fidelity to in my life now.  As for anything else, well it is going to have to be revealed to me that it can be done in addition to the work that God has already called me to, to make me able to accept that it is coming from God. 

Prayer:  Lord, help me to discern the truth for my life and be able to see what you are calling me to do.  I ask this, as always, in the name of the Father and of the Son and of the holy Spirit.  Amen. 

Leave a Reply

