Salvation is a limited time offer…It expires when you do!

Standard

Gift:  Wisdom– With the gift of wisdom, we see God at work in our lives and in the world. For the wise person, the wonders of nature, historical events, and the ups and downs of our lives take on deeper meaning. The matters of judgment about the truth, and being able to see the whole image of God.

Reading:  3 There the wicked cease from troubling, there the weary are at rest.  (Job 3:17)

&

2 For my soul is filled with troubles; my life draws near to Sheol.  (Psalm 88:4)

Observation:  The psalmist and Job are very grim in today’s readings.  However, I chose to look at the bright side of what they were saying.  Because Jesus came to ransom me from the death that they speak of, I look forward to the day that he calls me home to be with all of those people that have gone before me.  It is not that I am not happy or joyful with the life God has given me here, but the life spent with Him for eternity will be so much better for all of us that have accepted Jesus Christ as our Lord and Savior.

Personification:  Joy – The ability to celebrate life even in the midst of pain and confusion.  Today, I especially want to display the fruit of joy in my life and time that I have left in this world.  The knowledge that Christ died in order that I could be with him for eternity, but also that God has provided for all of my needs and continues to do so for his unworthy servant.

Prayer:  Our Father, who art in Heaven.  Hallowed be thy name.  Thy Kingdom come.  Thy will be done, on earth as it is in Heaven.  Give us this day our daily bread and forgive us our trespasses, as we forgive those who trespass against us.  Lead us not into temptation but deliver us from evil. 

Hail Mary, full of grace.  The Lord is with you.  Blessed are you among women and blessed is the fruit of your womb, Jesus.  Holy Mary, Mother of God, pray for us sinners now and at the hour of our death.

Remember, oh most gracious Virgin Mary that never was it known that anyone who fled to your protection, implored your help or sought your intercession, was left unaided.  Inspired with this confidence, I fly unto you. Oh Virgin of Virgins, my mother.  To you do I come.  Before you I stand, sinful and sorrowful.  Oh Mother of the Word Incarnate, despise not my petitions, but in your mercy hear and answer me.

As for me and my family, help us to serve the Lord.  My focus will be on your purpose for my life.  I will conduct myself in a manner that is worthy of your Gospel.  I will struggle with other believers to share the Good News with the whole world, no matter what my enemies may do.  (beginning is from Joshua 24:15 and the end is taken from Philippians 1:27-28)

I ask this, as always, in the name of the Father and of the Son and of the holy Spirit.  Amen.

Leave a Reply

