I need to remember that I am an unprofitable servant…

Standard
Mary and Jesus

Image via Wikipedia

Gift:  Counsel (Right Judgment) – With the gift of right judgment, we know the difference between right and wrong, and we choose to do what is right. A person with right judgment avoids sin and lives out the values taught by Jesus.

Reading:  So should it be with you. When you have done all you have been commanded, say, ‘We are unprofitable servants; we have done what we were obliged to do.'”  (Luke 17:10)

Observation:  I am hearing this morning that I must not get too high on myself for following the will of God.  It is only in humility that I can continue to hear the call of God to continue to do His will in my life.  If I find myself getting too proud of my accomplishments, if there are any, I will try to remember the words of Jesus, that I am an unprofitable servant and nothing without the grace of God.

Personification:  Humility (Gentleness) – An inner strength that permits us to be aware of our own abilities without having to make a show of them.  I have chosen to concentrate on displaying the fruit of humility in my life before, but this morning I got a whole new understanding of it in my life.  I will choose to remind myself of the unworthiness of me, rather than the strengths that I have that come from God anyway.

PrayerAngel of God, my guardian dear, to whom God’s love commits me here, ever this day be at my side.  To light and guard, to rule and guide.  I ask this, as always, in the name of the Father and of the Son and of the holy Spirit.  Amen.

Leave a Reply

