I hope I don’t ever wish to justify myself…

Standard

(This video is the first thing that came to my mind as I heard the Gospel reading this morning.)

Gift:  Wisdom– With the gift of wisdom, we see God at work in our lives and in the world. For the wise person, the wonders of nature, historical events, and the ups and downs of our lives take on deeper meaning. The matters of judgment about the truth, and being able to see the whole image of God.

Reading:  But because he wished to justify himself, he said to Jesus, “And who is my neighbor?”  (Luke 10:29)

Observation:  I hear in this verse a reminder to not look to justify myself by questioning the Lord or even asking the Lord for clarification on whether I am following his calling for me.  In this Gospel reading today, the scholar of the law is given praise by the Lord for answering correctly that he should follow the first two commandments and told to do this and live.  After this he questions who is his neighbor.  My feeling is that he already knew that he should see everyone as his neighbor and it was either pride in his place as a scholar or just simple human nature to want to question the authority.  As I learn more about the scripture and church doctrine, I want to keep this verse in my head as a reminder of what I should not do.

Personification:  Modesty – No longer needing to impress other people with our power or degrees or connections or wealth.  It is my hope that I will be able to display modesty in all areas of my life.  If I can display modesty than I will be able to not fall prey to my sinful nature that would have me take pride in my wisdom, of which I would not have any without the grace and knowledge that was given to me as a free gift of God.

PrayerLord, help me to carry a modest heart with me at all times, so that I will rely on your grace to carry me.  I ask this, as always, in the name of the Father and of the Son and of the holy Spirit.  Amen.

Leave a Reply

