I should choose the better part daily…

Standard
Emblem of the Papacy

Image via Wikipedia

Here are some words from the Holy Father from last week that I think apply to today’s readings.    “Dear friends”, he said, “continue to offer daily witness of your faith, especially by humbly listening to the Word of God. … All Christians are called to accept and to live, day after day with simplicity and joy, the Word of truth which the Lord communicated to us. … It is vital that each Christian should live in contact and personal dialogue with the Word of God, given to us in Sacred Scripture, reading it not as a word of the past, but as a living Word addressed to us today”. 

Gift:  Understanding – With the gift of understanding, we comprehend how we need to live as a follower of Jesus Christ. A person with understanding is not confused by all the conflicting messages in our culture about the right way to live.

Reading:  The Lord said to her in reply, “Martha, Martha, you are anxious and worried about many things. 15 There is need of only one thing. Mary has chosen the better part and it will not be taken from her.”  (Luke 10:41-42)

Observation:   It would have been easy to get into a discussion after today’s readings about whether James was actually Jesus’ brother or what the original words mean and how that relates to the perpetual virginity of Mary that the church proclaims.  However, if I am going to follow the instruction of the Holy Father’s words from last week, why not look at what the Word of God is proclaiming to me today.  Don’t get me wrong, I would love to get into a debate with someone over the perpetual virginity of Mary and why that is an important proclamation of the church, especially in today’s society of sin, but I thought it was important to see today that God is calling me to be Mary and not Martha.

Personification:  Love (Charity) – Quick to sense the needs of the people with whom we work and live and respond as Jesus would.  Since I am leading communion service at our chapel this morning, I thought it would be great if I could display the fruit of love or charity today.  It is an awesome responsibility to be responsible for bringing the Word of God to life for a group of people, but I promise to fulfill this obligation faithfully until such time as we have a priest to do it for us every day, because it is my way of loving others, I think.

Prayer:  Lord, help me to remember that I am an unprofitable servant today and everyday and I am nothing without your grace.  Even then, I can hope to be nothing more than what You make of me.  I ask this, as always, in the name of the Father and of the Son and of the holy Spirit.  Amen.

Leave a Reply

