Blessed like the Virgin Mary?

Standard
Mary, depicted as Our Lady of Guadalupe

Image via Wikipedia

Gift:  Piety (Reverence) – With the gift of reverence, sometimes called piety, we have a deep sense of respect for God and the Church. A person with reverence recognizes our total reliance on God and comes before God with humility, trust, and love.

Reading:  8 While he was speaking, a woman from the crowd called out and said to him, “Blessed is the womb that carried you and the breasts at which you nursed.” He replied, “Rather, blessed are those who hear the word of God and observe it.”  (Luke 11:27-28)

Observation:  Jesus is telling me this morning that if I hear the word of God and observe it, I can be blessed like the Virgin Mary is blessed.  Observing the word of God means that I will make my will follow the will of God by only doing what I know is written for me in the word of God.  This may sound like a difficult task, but it is the only way that I can be sure that it is the will of the Father that I am following.

Personification:  Joy – The ability to celebrate life even in the midst of pain and confusion.  I almost left of the definition of the fruit of joy today, because I am not dealing with any personal pain and confusion, but I know that the world is, so my ability to display the fruit of joy in my life in the midst of the pain and confusion that is present in the world around me still makes sense.

Prayer:  Lord, you said that your word is eternal, so I want to align my life with the your eternal Word.  Please help me to stay true to the word of God today and forever.  I ask this, as always, in the name of the Father and of the Son and of the holy Spirit.  Amen.

One thought on “Blessed like the Virgin Mary?

Leave a Reply

