I need to stop wasting my time at night…

Standard
Sheep on a frosty morning. Grateful for a feed...

Sheep on a frosty morning. Grateful for a feed...

Gift:  Wisdom– With the gift of wisdom, we see God at work in our lives and in the world. For the wise person, the wonders of nature, historical events, and the ups and downs of our lives take on deeper meaning. The matters of judgment about the truth, and being able to see the whole image of God.

Reading:  The Lord said to him, “Oh you Pharisees! Although you cleanse the outside of the cup and the dish, inside you are filled with plunder and evilYou fools! Did not the maker of the outside also make the inside? But as to what is within, give alms, and behold, everything will be clean for you. (Luke 11:39-41)

Observation:  When I read the readings this morning, I found myself searching for more guidance and not just wanting to express what I heard God saying to me.  It is the knowledge of the fact that I am by nature a sinner that was telling me this morning that I am not qualified to interpret the scripture this morning in a way that would be beneficial to anyone other than me.  Now, as I am looking back at my emotions this morning, I realize that this should be a natural reaction to reading the Word of God.  I have decided that what should make up my morning from now on is sharing quality time with my boys before they go off to school and if I am supposed to lead communion service, I may or may not post my reflection before I lead the service.  I will not let my internal activity control what is happening on the outside of my life.  If you look at the Gospel reading this morning, Jesus tells the Pharisees that they should not only be concerned with the cleansing of the outside of the cup and the dish when inside they are filled with plunder and evil.  So, I need to be aware of how God is speaking to me on the outside as well as on the inside, especially since at times I have a tendency to block out the way the spirit is moving in me, in favor of the plunder and evil that I carry with me.  I will continue to journal in the mornings, but with more awareness of the important people who are sharing this time with me.

Personification:  Self-Control – Learning to discipline my time, energy and desires to reflect my spiritual values and priorities.  This is such a difficult fruit to display in my life, because I would rather just let my habitual nature take over.  I am hearing this morning that this is the devil’s playground.  If I want to be rid of the plunder and evil that I was born with, I must act intentionally to make myself ready to do the will of the Father always. 

Prayer:  Lord, help me to use my blackberry to plan my next day on the night before with the intention of making myself aware of all the tasks that you would have me complete in your name.  I ask this, as always, in the name of the Father and of the Son and of the holy Spirit.  Amen.

Leave a Reply

