What memorials am I building?

Standard
The foundation of Christ 1 Corinthians 3:11; p...

Image via Wikipedia

Gift:  Knowledge – With the gift of knowledge, we understand the meaning of God’s Revelation, especially as expressed in the life and words of Jesus Christ. A person with knowledge is always learning more about the scriptures and Tradition.

Reading:  Consequently, you bear witness and give consent to the deeds of your ancestors, for they killed them and you do the building.  (Luke 11:48)

Observation:  I feel like I may be stretching the meaning of this verse this morning.  However, if I am going to truly see the Word of God as speaking to me, this is the verse that spoke to me the most.  It is saying to me that if I am going to stand by and let myself be dominated by my sinful nature, I am building my memorial over the body of Christ.  Since Jesus is still alive, it doesn’t make any sense for me to be building a memorial over him, unless I am acting without faith.  Therefore, I will not let myself be dominated by sin and allow the people that are in my life to see that Jesus is still alive. 

Personification: Love   Everything is lawful , but not everything is beneficial.  Everything is lawful for me, but I will not let myself be dominated by anything.  (1 Corinthians 6:12)  This verse came to me this morning as I was reflecting on the meaning of the message that I was receiving this morning from the Gospel.  In order to love everyone in a way reflecting the love that Christ showed to me by dying on the cross, I must put my present relationship with my God and my wife in order first.  I believe that displaying the fruit of love should be easy, as long as my relationship with the Lord is in order.

Prayer:  In this world of sin and debauchery, please empower me and my fellow brothers and sisters to not let ourselves be dominated by it.  Specifically, do not let me succomb to the power of sin in my life, so that I can keep my relationship with you in order and you can order my relationships with others.  I ask this, as always, in the name of the Father and of the Son and of the holy Spirit.  Amen.

2 thoughts on “What memorials am I building?

  1. I love to read your post. Heart+Mind= Human Nature, well im project coordinator in church,i believe heart is always right so we just have to take a decision by Heart but implement by Mind. God bless you

    • Thanks for the comment…I love to hear how my journal is touching others in some way, I hope positively…Heart+Mind = Human nature…I love that image and I will carry that one with me, thank you again…

      God bless you!

      Jason

Leave a Reply

