Do not blaspheme the Spirit! If you know what is good for you…

Standard
Mary and Jesus

Image via Wikipedia

Gift:  Counsel (Right Judgment) – With the gift of right judgment, we know the difference between right and wrong, and we choose to do what is right. A person with right judgment avoids sin and lives out the values taught by Jesus.

Reading:  5Everyone who speaks a word against the Son of Man will be forgiven, but the one who blasphemes against the holy Spirit will not be forgiven.  (Luke 12:10)

Observation:  This morning I was left with the impression from this verse, as well as the rest of the readings from the daily Mass readings for today, that we should take comfort in that the holy Spirit will be there to guide us when our faith is attacked.  The reason I focused on this verse was because there are plenty of people who would question the church and its motives for doing certain things and encouraging certain prayers.  This is my attempt, in my own small way, to warn them that if there question moves from sincere doubt to blasphemy against the Spirit, they are in danger of losing the forgiveness that was promised to them.  If they insist on continuing persecuting someone else’s faith with that knowledge, you may want to stand back away from them.

Personification:  Gentleness  It will be my focus today to continue to search for God’s purpose for my life.  It is my hope that I will be able to search for truth with the fruit of gentleness that comes from the holy Spirit.  It will be against my human nature to not attack when I am attacked, but it will be the fruit of gentleness that comes from the grace of God through the holy Spirit that calms my soul and allows me to react more simply and gently.

Prayer:  Lord Jesus Christ, Son of God, have mercy on me a sinner.  I ask this, as always, in the name of the Father and of the Son and of the holy Spirit.  Amen.

http://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Acts_of_Reparation

Leave a Reply

