Wisdom for Spiderman from Jesus…

Standard
Spider-Man547.jpg

Great power, great responsibility...

Gift:  Understanding – With the gift of understanding, we comprehend how we need to live as a follower of Jesus Christ. A person with understanding is not confused by all the conflicting messages in our culture about the right way to live.

Reading:  Much will be required of the person entrusted with much, and still more will be demanded of the person entrusted with more.  (Luke 12:48b)

Observation:  As our Pastor was reading the Gospel this morning at our morning Mass here at St. Alice Church, I was reminded of the fact that this is the verse that explains the parable that we get from Uncle Ben in the story of Spider-Man.  Uncle Ben tells Spider-Man, “With great power comes great responsibility.”  Personally, I think the translation of the Gospel of Luke says it better.  The reason I like the way it says it in the Gospel is because, as our Pastor said in his homily this morning, everyone has some gift that they have been given by God, so everyone has a requirement of responding to that gift.  However, there are certain people who are given stewardship over the church that have a greater requirement.  This requirement is so great, it is translated as a demand.

Personification:  Generosity  I am hearing this message as a reminder that no matter how busy my life may get, I have a demand from God to give of myself completely every day.  It will be my focus daily to not only provide for my family and my community, but I will finish every day with the knowledge that I have given all of myself away.

Prayer:  Lord, help me to give of myself at all times, so that I can know that I am doing your will for me in my life.  I ask this, as always, in the name of the Father and of the Son and of the holy Spirit.  Amen.

 

 

 

Leave a Reply

