All Christians believe in…

Standard
The descent of the Holy Spirit on the day of t...

This image was the background for my first blog...

Gift:  Wisdom– With the gift of wisdom, we see God at work in our lives and in the world. For the wise person, the wonders of nature, historical events, and the ups and downs of our lives take on deeper meaning. The matters of judgment about the truth, and being able to see the image of God.

Reading:  2 one body and one Spirit, as you were also called to the one hope of your call; one Lord, one faith, one baptism; one God and Father of all, who is over all and through all and in all. (Ephesians 4:4-6)

Observation:  It once again took me reading the footnotes to see the point of this reading from Paul’s letter to the Ephesians.  In it he tells of the qualifications of a true church that belongs to Christ.  Here is the footnote, so you can see them for yourself…The “seven unities” (church, Spirit, hope; Lord, faith in Christ [Eph 1:13], baptism; one God) reflect the triune structure of later creeds in reverse.  I am hearing this morning that the belief of the Christian comes down to these simple terms.  The church is the one body of Christ.  The holy Spirit is the one spirit, and the hope of our call is that we all be at peace with one another regardless of the way we practice our faith with God’s guidance over us all.

Personification:  Self-Control  Yes, I am still working on this fruit of the Spirit.  The blackberry has gone a long way to get me organized in my day, but I feel like I am missing something when it comes to focusing on the displaying of the fruit of self-control.  I guess if I think about the first thing that comes to my mind when I think of self-control, it is controlling my passions or desires of the flesh.  I don’t believe my blackberry is going to be able to help me with that.

Prayer:  Lord, it is my will to be your follower in all the things I do today.  Please help me to control my passions and desires to be more in line with the love that you would have me show to others today.  I ask this, as always, in the name of the Father and of the Son and of the holy Spirit.  Amen. 

 

Leave a Reply

