Full grown faith…He is still waiting…For me, at least…

Standard
Mustard Seed Sign

Gift:  Piety (Reverence) – With the gift of reverence, sometimes called piety, we have a deep sense of respect for God and the Church. A person with reverence recognizes our total reliance on God and comes before God with humility, trust, and love.

Reading:   It is like a mustard seed that a person took and planted in the garden. When it was fully grown, it became a large bush and ‘the birds of the sky dwelt in its branches.'”  (Luke13:19)

Observation:  I know it says in the footnotes that Jesus was talking about the small beginnings of the faith community in Jerusalem, and how that grew to the faith that they knew in the time of Luke’s writing of the Gospel.  However, I can’t help but see that Jesus uses the same example of the mustard seed, that he used earlier when talking about how small your faith had to be to move mountains or uproot a tree.  To me, I am seeing that if that same faith, seen as small as a mustard seed at the beginning of my faith life, is allowed to mature it will become as large as the mustard bush when it is full-grown, what a source of hope and shelter it could be for others.

Personification:  Kindness  It is my intention today to display the fruit of kindness to everyone today.  In order to do this, I will have to react to every situation peacefully and remember to keep joy in my heart.  It will be the grace of God working through me if I can accomplish displaying the fruit of kindness all day today.

Prayer:  Lord, build up my faith to its full maturity today.  Please help me to react to every situation the way that you would.  I ask this, as always, in the name of the Father and of the Son and of the holy Spirit.  Amen.

Leave a Reply

