We can’t go back in time to free slaves, so free yourself…

Standard
Three Abyssinian slaves in chains. The Anti-Sl...

Image via Wikipedia

Gift:  Wisdom– With the gift of wisdom, we see God at work in our lives and in the world. For the wise person, the wonders of nature, historical events, and the ups and downs of our lives take on deeper meaning. The matters of judgment about the truth, and being able to see the image of God.

Reading:  Slaves, be obedient to your human masters with fear and trembling, in sincerity of heart, as to Christ, not only when being watched, as currying favor, but as slaves of Christ, doing the will of God from the heart, willingly serving the Lord and not human beings, knowing that each will be requited from the Lord for whatever good he does, whether he is slave or free.  (Ephesians 6:5-8)

Observation:  My son said to me this morning, after reading the first reading, that he would free as many slaves as he could.  Of course, he said that he would have to have the money to buy the slaves and live during the time of slavery.  At first I thought, what a nice idea for him to think of the slaves of that day and his thoughtfulness that he would want to give them thier freedom.  Then, I remembered that I had that same thought as a young person, even before I became a Christian.  I figured out that now, the Apostle Paul in this letter to the Ephesians is not agreeing with slavery, he is just saying that we need to accept our place in life, as if the Lord himself gave it to us, no matter what that place may be.  If it is freedom you seek to provide for others, then first free yourselves from the slavery to sin, and then look to what the Lord does with you.

Personification:  Self-Control  For me, I must remember to set boundaries in my life, so that I don’t cross them.  Also, if I do cross the boundaries that I set for some reason, I must remember to rely on the Lord to save me from myself and allow me to quickly return to the path that He has set before me.

Prayer:  Lord, I know that you have a path laid out for my life.  Please help me to stay true to you and not waste any more time following my own path.  I ask this, as always, in the name of the Father and of the Son and of the holy Spirit.  Amen.

 

Leave a Reply

