No longer strangers…members of the family?

Standard
The Last Supper of Jesus Christ

Your family too...

Gift:  Fortitude (Courage) – With the gift of courage, we overcome our fear and are willing to take risk as a follower of Jesus. A person with courage is willing to stand up for what is right in the sight of God, even if it means accepting rejection, verbal abuse, or even physical harm and death.

Reading:  So then you are no longer strangers and sojourners, but you are fellow citizens with the holy ones and members of the household of God, built upon the foundation of the apostles and prophets, with Christ Jesus himself as the capstone. 10

Observation:  When reading these two verses this morning, I was reminded initially of how the feast days for the apostles have similar readings picked out for them.  Then, when I went back to read them again, I realized that it was not about them, but about us.  I should see myself as no longer a stranger.  I compare it to when I went to my father’s childhood home in North Carolina and once I had lived there for a little while, they all accepted me as family.  As my father’s son, they had always welcomed me to their homes.  However, knowing now how hospitable everyone is in the south, I don’t know if that was any different from any other person who was not a member of the family.  Anyway, my focus this morning was on the fact that Paul is saying to the Ephesians that they should see themselves as members of the family…we should too.

Personification:  Generosity  I will choose today and hopefully for the rest of my life to make my life a gift to others.  I have my duties that I must fulfill as husband and father, and my fulfillment of these duties will be my gift to my wife and children.  For everyone else, I will make sure that my life is on display enough that people will be able to see that you can be a broken vessel and still be a member of the same household as the apostles and prophets.

Prayer:  Lord keep me away from all serious sin and I’m sorry for those times that I have chosen sin.  Please help me rid myself of all sinfulness, so that I can more closely follow the path that you have laid out before me.  I ask this, as always, in the name of the Father and of the Son and of the holy Spirit.  Amen.

Leave a Reply

